· 

What is my Methodology?

 

My practice and major project proposal is investigating the Causes and Effects of Climate Change around the Auckland region. In 24 digital photographs the Causes will be analysed focusing on architectural forms symbolising the major industries and components responsible, before looking at possible effects of rising sea levels and growing amounts of waste for our planet. The images will explore a subject that is an important part of the current media and while the images at a glance visualise beauty, after some consideration of the context, they reveal a tragedy that might be our future. 

Looking at my practice from a practice-research perspective, I'd classify it as a project that will influence my research as I experiment with different techniques to investigate what effects these processes can  have on the overall appearance of my images. 

While the main focus of my work is the Cause and Effects of Climate Change the result of my research into Beauty in Tragedy will further lead my research in particular when considering how to best address my audiences and predict their reactions. Furthermore my experimentation and visits of several exhibitions should shape my research into different artworks and ideally answer some questions regarding the benefits of one art form over another.

My research and practice will be strongly connected through the practice-led research using my insights from experimentation to form new research questions to explore in my theory, however both pieces should be strong enough to transport their respective subject without each other, respectively as a photographic series and as a written text.   

Looking at my experimental development work up to this point the idea of cyclic research processes seems appropriate as I revisit idea generation and form new ideas to work into my practice. While my project started out as architectural series exploring climate change, it since has moved on to a fine-art piece of work that will include underwater imagery as well as waste sculptures resembling the architecture of the city. 

These ideas were produced while working on primary research and visiting exhibitions on Waste and Relocation. Thus far my research, has taken a similar course to my practice and it will likely continue to raise more questions before I find my answers. 

Starting, my research focused on climate change, architecture and audience reactions. In the past months however, it moved through further research into a more focused field, exploring beauty in tragedy and the use of photography VS other art forms as a tool for education.   

Looking at methodologies in particular I found some to be more suitable for my particular project than others and while I could see a possible use for surveys and cross-sectional studies, I so far have relied on case studies to shape my research, while I worked on basic experimental studies when experimenting with underwater photography. Looking at the different variables, I added light, changed the depth of water and included air under water to analyse the different result and find the situation that would be most suitable for the image I visualise for my series. 

 

After looking at the different methodologies, I can see that the participative enquire can be a useful tool of research. As my studies move along I hope to build a stronger network of artists and climate change activists in the Auckland region to cooperate and exchange ideas with. Also working on enquiries focused on different networks could be beneficial as I could ask each of these groups and get different results as they are all differently connected to the subject. 

This will shape the research and add important new perspectives. 

 

Using multiple methodologies for my project work so far has been beneficial as different methodologies can focus on different elements of my practice. My series consists of different parts and different methodologies can help me explore these parts of my series in greater detail. 

Write a comment

Comments: 0